Sharing….

This happened long time back but it left a big impression on me. I always wanted to write about this so that people would know how goodness can come from anywhere, anytime, anyone…

One very hot summer afternoon, while returning from office I decided to buy some snacks to have with my tea. So I am standing in the food shop, waiting for my turn to get my samosas. As i look around, I notice five kids aging between 2 to 6 years on the other side. In such hot weather, i find them playing with each other. It looked like they were waiting for their parents. These kids belonged to very poor family, living on streets maybe. So mostly they were waiting for their parents to get them food.

Meanwhile, in the food shop it was my turn to buy samosas. All of a sudden i felt, maybe I should buy some samosas for the kids as well, as they must be hungry. So I buy some samosas for them and go across the street to give it to them.

As soon as I reach them, they group around me and I feel it was a good decision I got them some food. But the next thing that happened really surprised me.

I give the eldest kid, a girl the bag containing the samosas. She shows the bag containing samosas to the other kids, then tells something to them and starts packing it in her cloth bag. Very curiously I ask her are they all not hungry and why are they packing the samosas….

To this the girl replies that they will share the samosas with their parents. The whole family will eat them together. I am so blown away by the goodness of these small street kids. At such a small age they have learnt the quality of sharing with others. If the kids wanted they could have had the food all of themselves, instead they chose to share. Isn’t this an act of goodness, that too from such small children who themselves have so little in their lives.

Even today, every time I buy something i remember this incident. The concept of sharing is really important. The more we share, the more it will make somebody happy. Even a small thing shared is worth millions when you see the happiness the other person gets out of it. I really want to thank those kids for the lesson they gave me with their simple act of sharing…

2 thoughts on “Sharing….

Leave a Reply

