Reading about APJ Abdul Kalam….

Since last few days, I have been reading about this great person – his life experiences, his teachings, his thoughts, his greatness….. the list just goes on…

When I was reading an article written by Srijan Pal Singh about his last day with Mr. Kalam, I read one incident which really really touched my heart. I am copying the paragraph  here below:

“Third, was an experience from the beauty of his humility. We were in a convoy of 6-7 cars. Dr. Kalam and I were in the second car. Ahead us was an open gypsy with three soldiers in it. Two of them were sitting on either side and one lean guy was standing atop, holding his gun. One hour into the road journey, Dr. Kalam said, “Why is he standing? He will get tired. This is like punishment. Can you ask a wireless message to given that he may sit?” I had to convince him, he has been probably instructed to keep standing for better security. He did not relent. We tried radio messaging, that did not work. For the next 1.5 hours of the journey, he reminded me thrice to see if I can hand signal him to sit down. Finally, realizing there is little we can do – he told me, “I want to meet him and thank him”. Later, when we landed in IIM Shillong, I went inquiring through security people and got hold of the standing guy. I took him inside and Dr. Kalam greeted him. He shook his hand, said thank you buddy. “Are you tired? Would you like something to eat? I am sorry you had to stand so long because of me”. The young lean guard, draped in black cloth, was surprised at the treatment. He lost words, just said, “Sir, aapke liye to 6 ghante bhi khade rahenge”.

Mr. Kalam felt for the security guard and since he couldn’t do much about the situation he felt that the least he could do was thank the person. Wow!!! A small act of goodness…. But when it comes from such a great person, it adds so much value to it…. Yes, any act of goodness whether big or small, is of great value. But when such good acts are done by such big people, they are watched and learned by many people.

I am mentioning only one good act of his here as an example of how in their own way, big people also do their acts of goodness. For me this is a very big encouragement to try to do good things in life. And I am mentioning it here so that when you read even one good act, you feel good and motivated to do good things as well.

I pray for Mr. Kalam through this small write-up. May his soul rest in peace!!!

And yes, thanks a lot to Srijan Pal Singh for sharing this incident with us.

The paragraph in italics is taken from the following link.

(http://indianexpress.com/article/india/india-others/apj-abdul-kalams-last-words-to-his-aide-funny-guy-are-you-doing-well/)

2 thoughts on “Reading about APJ Abdul Kalam….

Leave a Reply

