Voluntary acts of goodness…

It has been some days since I lasted posted anything in here. But today, being Diwali, I wanted to wish you all a very happy Diwali and share with you a small incident I came across a few days back.

I was going to a hospital in a taxi with my husband. As we reached the place and were getting out, a guy came to hire the taxi. At the same time, two ladies from the opposite side were also coming towards this taxi. They didn’t see the guy already waiting for the taxi here but the guy saw them. As soon as the ladies reached the taxi, the guy asked them to take the taxi and he started looking for another one.

As soon as I saw this, I said to my husband that the guy has done such a good act. He didn’t need to do it but he did it on his own. It came so naturally to him. This is when my husband told me that this is a common sight here. People offering taxi to old people, women and children. And then I started looking around and found many such instances where people offered older people and women with children the taxi so that they don’t have to stand and wait. In-fact even before this whole thing came to my notice, I have seen even my husband do this few times. If he is not in a particular hurry, he would let older people or women take the taxi before him.

Wow!! Isn’t this an act of goodness shown by the people in a society?? That is what I have been talking about. One person does a good act, another one does a good act and slowly it becomes a chain of good acts and in this way people start doing such good acts as a normal part of their routine.

I appreciate the good acts done by these people and thank them for showing me another good act, which is done by not just one or two but by so many people around here that now it has become a part of their nature. This again increases my belief in the fact that there is a lot of goodness happening around me.

Leave a Reply

