Never ignore the advice given by elders…

20160712_114306

Rava laddu😊

Two days back, my husband casually asked me how to make rava laddu (Indian sweet).  I told him that  I didn’t know how to make it. Then the next day he told his mom that I have asked her to make rava laddu. I was laughing thinking about the way he was indirectly asking me to make the laddu. So the day after that I thought of making the laddu and giving him a surprise in the evening. I called up mom and asked her the recipe. She told me how to make it and one of the steps she said was to powder the sugar as that will mix easily with the rest of the mixture. She specifically said that don’t use the coarse sugar as it will take some time to melt and mix. So once I had the recipe, I started making the laddu. When I reached the sugar stage, I noticed that the grinder was in washing. I felt lazy to wash it and decided to mix the sugar as it is. As expected, the sugar didn’t melt easily. I kept on mixing it up. It took a lot of time to get the sugar melted and mix well with the mixture. All this while, I kept remembering mom’s words. Once it was finally done, I tasted a bit before making small balls out of it and found that the sugar was less. I was going to leave it as it is but then decided to add more powdered sugar. I cleaned up the grinder, powdered some sugar and added it to the mixture. In the end, however, the laddu turned out to be really tasty. My husband got a big surprise in the evening and he simply loved it.

You must be thinking why I am talking about how I made the rava laddu and that too so much in detail without even giving the recipe here :). Well it is not about the laddu that I want to talk about here. It’s about the lesson I learnt while making the laddu – “Never ignore the advice given by elders”. It’s about the experience of my mom. She knew exactly how to do it. She also knew very well the shortcut that I would take and so she warned me about the consequences before itself. And like every person who doesn’t pay attention to the advice of the elders, I also didn’t pay attention to what she said, as a result, experienced the consequences and in the end learnt that she was right.

It  happens in our lives so many times that for all the doubts and confusions we have, our elders (parents, grandparents…) will already have solutions. They will know exactly what we are talking about and they will come up with the right solutions. But it also happens that we  don’t take these solutions seriously thinking what do the elders know about the present times and what do they know about our problems.  In the end, however,  we do realize, how by listening to their advice, we could have avoided a bad experience in our own lives. They give us these advice as they don’t want us to face the difficulties which they themselves faced in similar situations.

This is a small learning experience for me about how not to ignore the advice given by our elders. But there are so many other experiences, in my life and I am sure in the life of everyone, that gives us the same moral in the end.

 

 

Leave a Reply

